[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]
Re: Brutal Deluxe's MountIt will soon go 1.2
On 5 sep, 02:27, schmidtd <schmi...@my-deja.com> wrote:
> On Sep 4, 8:09 pm, Sheppy <the.she...@gmail.com> wrote:> On Sep 4, 4:24 pm, Toinet <antoine.vig...@laposte.net> wrote:
>
> > > Hi All,
>
> > > Now that I have a 1.2 version of MountIt with removable devices and
> > > other bugs removed (yep, there were), I was wondering whether I would
> > > remove the ability to mount the same disk image twice (ie. I compare
> > > the pathnames)
>
> > > - Do you want me to keep the check and prevent you from loading the
> > > same image twice or shall I remove the check?
>
> > Don't remove the check; there are too many risks involved when
> > mounting the same image twice, unless they're mounted read-only and
> > don't let you write the changes back.
>
> Once it's virtualized on the GS, it's not written back to anything...
> it's all in memory. And GSOS wouldn't let you mount two disks named
> the same - it would make you rename (or eject) one of them.
You are both right and that is what is happening: GS/OS asks you to
rename the second device.
The problem here is that both images share the same GS/OS pathname. If
you update them by writing their data back to disk (I recall I do that
backwards: latest mounted to first mounted thus allowing images within
images updates), then you may lose a lot of information...
If I mount the second image in a read only mode, then it cannot be
renamed then you will have to eject it, the pathname check is of no
use...
That is why I ask and I still don't have a clue for that one,
antoine